• The Department started functioning in 1909.
  • Grew into an Honours Department in 1913.
  • The Department bears almost hundred years’ legacy.
  • Dr. B.B. Sen served as a Principal of the College.




The Department bears almost a hundred years’ legacy since its inception in 1909. After offering only Pass course teaching in the initial few years, the Department started functioning as an Honours Department in 1913.

maths1 maths2

Over the years the Department produced many brilliant scholars who later established themselves in India and abroad. Prof. Gautam Mukherjee (Prof., ISI, Kolkata), Prof. D.N. Sarkhel (ex-Prof. of Kalyani University), Prof. P.K. Choudhury (ex-Prof. of North bengal University) are only few of its illustrious alumni. Some eminent teachers who added ambience to the Department includes Dr. B.B. Sen of international fame. He also served as a Principal of the College from February, 1952 to May, 1953. Dr. B.K. Samanta, an eminent mathematician, was also a Principal of this College from November, 1986 to January, 1991.

The Department has 7 teaching posts. Number of seats in the Honours course is 30. Student-teacher ratio is currently 7.5:1.

maths3 maths4

Faculty Members:




Sri Suresh Nath Bairagya

 Associate Professor & Head


Dr. Jayanta Majumdar

Associate Professor

M.Sc., Ph.D

Dr.Bimal Kumar Sett

Assistant Professor

M.Sc., B.Ed., Ph.D

Sri Amal Ch. Barman

Assistant Professor


Dr.Palash Mandal

Assistant Professor

M.Sc., Ph.D