Pages Navigation Menu


  • The Department started functioning in 1909.
  • Grew into an Honours Department in 1913.
  • The Department bears almost hundred years’ legacy.
  • Dr. B.B. Sen served as a Principal of the College.




The Department bears almost a hundred years’ legacy since its inception in 1909. After offering only Pass course teaching in the initial few years, the Department started functioning as an Honours Department in 1913.

maths1 maths2

Over the years the Department produced many brilliant scholars who later established themselves in India and abroad. Prof. Gautam Mukherjee (Prof., ISI, Kolkata), Prof. D.N. Sarkhel (ex-Prof. of Kalyani University), Prof. P.K. Choudhury (ex-Prof. of North bengal University) are only few of its illustrious alumni. Some eminent teachers who added ambience to the Department includes Dr. B.B. Sen of international fame. He also served as a Principal of the College from February, 1952 to May, 1953. Dr. B.K. Samanta, an eminent mathematician, was also a Principal of this College from November, 1986 to January, 1991.

The Department has 7 teaching posts. Number of seats in the Honours course is 30. Student-teacher ratio is currently 7.5:1.

maths3 maths4

Faculty Members:

Name Qualification Designation Specialization


Teaching Research
Suresh Nath Bairagya M.Sc. Associate Prof Functional Analysis & Real Analysis 32 Years 3 .5 Years
Dr. Jayanta Majumdar M.Sc.,
Assistant Prof. Solid Mechanics 19 Years 6 Years
Dr. Bimal Kumar Sett M.Sc.,Ph.D Assistant Prof. Computer science and cybernetics 13 Years 6 Years
Dr. Palash Mandal M. Sc.,Ph.D Assistant Prof. Bio-math and Bio-mechanics 10 Years 6 Years
Amal Ch. Barman M.Sc. Assistant Prof. Real Analysis 17 Years 5 Years