Pages Navigation Menu


Students of Geology Department

Students of Geology Department


  • The Department started in 2010.
  • At present it offers an undergraduate honours course.
  • All the students of first batch secured first class marks in B.Sc.
  • All the teachers are engaged with active research work.


The Department of Geology is the newest addition to the prestigious Hooghly Mohsin College. The department started its journey in 2010. At present it offers an undergraduate honours course. The department has a very energetic and vibrant faculty, eager to prove their abilities in the field of Geological studies. They have varied interests in different branches in Geology like structural geology, sedimentary geology, economic geology, geophysics and ground water. They regularly participate in national seminars and workshops, publish articles in national and international journals and guide research students pursuing Ph.D.

The teacher-student ratio is 1:5. The students of the first batch are currently doing their post-graduation at different Institutions like IIT, ISER, ISM and BESU.

Faculty Members:

Alokesh Chatterjee

Associate Professor  &  Head

M.Sc., Ph. D.

Dr. Samiran Mahapatra Associate Professor M. Sc. (Tech), M Tech., Ph. D
Dr. Sandip Bandyopadhyay Associate Professor M.Sc., Ph. D
Sri Pinaki Saha Associate Professor M.Sc.
Dr. Tapas Acharya  Assistant Professor M.Sc., Ph. D.
Sri Sudipto Banerjee Part-time Teacher M.Sc.